Applying Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs in the Workplace

Screenshot 2020-07-16 at 07.51.06

Here are the five levels in Maslow’s hierarchy of needs, and how you can apply them to the workplace to engage your employees. Today more than ever we need to utilize virtual organization among cross- functional teams in order to boost collaboration in your remote team.

For this reason we need to highlight the importance of applying Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs Theory to HR Responsibilities.

Great organizations and the leaders within those organizations understand that people matter.

Maximise people potential by applying a five-tier hierarchy of individual needs.

The bottom of his hierarchy contains Physiological Needs, such as receiving a decent salary to support oneself.

The second tier up is Safety and Security, which constitutes insurance and a safe work environment. While the second tier needs may be very important for decent living, they are not as essential as the Physiological Needs but are something to aspire to when building a career.

The third tier up is the need for Belonging, which constitutes having an efficient work environment with supportive employers and co-workers.

Fourth tier up from the bottom is the need for Esteem, such as through receiving awards or promotions to show recognition for hard work.

The top tier of Maslow’s Needs Hierarchy is that of Self-Actualization, at which point, the employees are more motivated when they believe that their efforts will result in successful performance and, ultimately, desired rewards and outcomes.

Related Blogs

Leave us a comment

logged inYou must be to post a comment.